John William Wilson, AM

John William wilson

Title: Professor
Company: University of Melbourne, Monash University
Location: Toorak, Victoria, Australia

John William Wilson, AM, Professor at the University of Melbourne and Monash University, has been recognized by Marquis Who’s Who Top Educators for dedication, achievements, and leadership in thoracic education and surgery.

Renowned for his prowess in the medical field, Dr. Wilson has dedicated nearly 40 years to research in airway inflammation and remodeling, cytokine therapy in lung disease and gene modulator therapy in cystic fibrosis. Offering his knowledge at the collegiate level, he has excelled as a professor at the University of Melbourne since 2000 and at Monash University since 2006. In addition, he has served as head of the cystic fibrosis service at the Alfred Hospital since 1992. Dr. Wilson commenced his career as the house medical officer at the Royal Melbourne Hospital in 1981, remaining until 1986. Subsequently, he was a postdoctoral research fellow at the University of Medicine from 1988 to 1990 and a clinical associate professor at Monash University for 10 years until 2006. Matriculating at the University of Melbourne, Dr. Wilson achieved a Bachelor of Science in 1975, a Bachelor of Medicine and Bachelor of Surgery in 1980 and a Doctor of Philosophy in 1989.

Finding great success in his profession, Dr. Wilson was the recipient of the President’s Medal from the Australian Medical Association in 2019. In 2018, he was named to the Order of Australia and was granted the John Sands Medal from the Royal Australasian College of Physicians. A fellow of the American College of Chest Physicians, he is also an honorary member of the Royal Australian College of Physicians and Committee Chairs of Medical Colleges. Amongst his additional roles, Dr. Wilson has been president of the Royal Australasian College of Physicians since 2020 and on the executive committee for the Thoracic Society of Australia and New Zealand since 2000. Notably, the medical professional attributes his success to his various mentors, including Ian Makay, Michael Pain, Steven Holtag, Edward Byrne and Gustav Nossal. To attest to his legacy, Dr. Wilson is listed in the sixth and seventh editions of Who’s Who in Medicine and Healthcare, the ninth edition of Who’s Who in Science and Engineering and the 21st edition of Who’s Who in the World.

For more information, please visit:

Press Release

Contact Dr. Wilson:

Leave a Reply