Edward Michael MacKinnon, PhD

Edward MacKinnon

Title: Professor Emeritus
Company: California State University, East Bay
Location: Oakland, California, United States

Edward Michael MacKinnon, PhD, Professor Emeritus at California State University, East Bay, has been recognized by Marquis Who’s Who Top Educators for dedication, achievements, and leadership in physics education.

Interpreting classical and quantum physics through the lens of philosophy has been the focal point of Dr. MacKinnon’s illustrious 30-year career. After serving the California State University, East Bay in Hayward, California for 26 years, from 1971 to 1997, he notably attained professor emeritus status in 1997. Prior, Dr. MacKinnon served Boston College in Newton, Massachusetts from 1965 to 1971 as an assistant professor, quickly progressing to a full professor. A prolific writer in addition to his teaching, he is the author of the published works, “The Relevance of Philosophy,” “The New Reductionism” and “The Role of a Posteriori Mathematics in Physics,” among others. A member of the American Philosophical Association and Sigma Xi, he is also the reviewer, author, and co-author to 85 articles to professional journals.

Dr. MacKinnon received a Bachelor of Arts in 1950 and a Master of Arts in physics in 1954, both from Boston College. He went on to earn a Master of Arts in science from Harvard University in 1956 and a Doctor of Philosophy in physics from St. Louis University in 1960. Dr. Mackinnon was largely shaped in his academic pursuits through his 21 years as a Jesuit. Additionally, he achieved a Licentiate in Theology from Weston College in 1962 and pursued postdoctoral studies in philosophy at Yale University from 1963 to 1965. Looking back on his career, Dr. MacKinnon believes what has distinguished him is his electric work across the boards of philosophy, physics, science, history, and earlier geology. He owes much thanks and appreciation to his mentor during his post-doctoral time at Yale University, Norwood Russell Hansen. To attest to his legacy, Dr. MacKinnon can be found in the 65th edition of Who’s Who in America, the fourth edition of Who’s Who in American Education and the 23rd edition of Who’s Who in the West.

For more information, please visit:

Press Release

Contact Dr. MacKinnon:

Leave a Reply