Margarita Merriman


Title: Music Educator, Composer
Company: Atlantic Union College
Location: Leominster, Massachusetts, United States

Margarita Merriman, Professor Emeritus at Atlantic Union College, has been recognized by Marquis Who’s Who Top Educators for dedication, achievements, and leadership in music education.

Born in Barcelona, Spain, to American parents, Dr. Merriman relocated to the United States at 18 months of age. Inspired by high school piano teachers, she enrolled at the University of Tennessee in Chattanooga where she earned a Bachelor of Music in piano performance in 1948. Subsequently, she attained both a Master of Music in 1953 and a Doctor of Philosophy in 1960 at the Eastman School of Music of the University of Rochester. For her doctoral dissertation, Dr. Merriman composed a symphony that was read under the baton of Howard Hanson and later performed by the Thayer Symphony Orchestra and the Redlands Symphony Orchestra, both directed by Dr. Jon Robertson.

Her teaching career began at Shenandoah Valley Academy where she was Director of Music from 1948-1951.  Subsequent teaching appointments at Andrews University and Southern Adventist University led to a three decade career at Atlantic Union College where Dr. Merriman soon attained full professorship. Her extracurricular activities included serving on the Lancaster Arts Council, playing cello in the Thayer Symphony Orchestra, and serving various churches as organist and choir director. Since 1990, she has held the title of Professor Emeritus of the Atlantic Union College. Her many vocal, keyboard, chamber and orchestra compositions include two symphonies, a concerto for piano and orchestra, and an oratorio entitled “The Millennium.”

For more information, please visit:

Press Release

Contact Dr. Merriman: 

Leave a Reply