Angela Svoboda


Title: Retired Coordinator, Chairperson
Company: Cedar Rapids Community School District

Location: Cedar Rapids, Iowa, United States

Angela Mae Svoboda, Retired Coordinator and Business Education Department Chair with the Cedar Rapids Community School District, has been recognized by Marquis Who’s Who Top Educators for dedication, achievements, and leadership in business education and academic administration.

With a lifelong interest in learning and education, Ms. Svoboda initially pursued her education at the University of Iowa. She earned a Bachelor of Science in commerce in 1956, which she followed up with a master’s in education from the University of Michigan in 1961. To further her education in the following years, she completed postgraduate coursework at Appalachian State University, the University of Iowa, and the University of Northern Iowa.

In 1954, Ms. Svoboda’s academic career began when she was hired as the departmental assistant to the head of the business education department at Coe College in Iowa. She remained there until she gained her first teaching job as a business teacher at the Burlington Community High School. In 1959, she relocated to Washington High School in the Cedar Rapids Community School District. There, she held several roles, all of which she expertly carried out. Up until her retirement in 1994, Ms. Svoboda was the department chair of business education, the office of education coordinator, and a business teacher in the high school.

Outside of her primary roles, Ms. Svoboda was active in numerous professional organizations. These include, but are not limited to, the National Education Association, Professional Secretaries, Inc., the Iowa State Education Association, and the Iowa Office of Education Association. The highlight of her career was receiving the honorable title of Outstanding Business Teacher from District 7. As a further testament to her success, she is featured in numerous editions of Who’s Who in the World, as well as the 20th edition of Who’s Who in the Midwest and the 72nd edition of Who’s Who in America. In 2018, she received the Albert Nelson Marquis Lifetime Achievement Award.

For more information, please visit: 

Who’s Who Milestones 

Lifetime Achievement 

Contact Ms. Svoboda: 

Leave a Reply