John C. Tannehill, Ph.D.

John Tannehill

Title: Professor Emeritus
Company: Iowa State University
Location: Ames, Iowa, United States

John C. Tannehill, Ph.D., Professor Emeritus at Iowa State University, has been recognized by Marquis Who’s Who Top Educators for dedication, achievements, and leadership in aerospace engineering and higher education.

Becoming interested in airplanes and rockets from a young age, Dr. Tannehill received a Bachelor of Science and Master of Science from Iowa State University, where he had the privilege of working with the world’s fastest computers. Earning a Doctor of Philosophy in mechanical engineering and a second Doctor of Philosophy in aerospace engineering from Iowa State University in 1969, he commenced his career in academia as an assistant professor of aerospace engineering at the university in 1969, holding the role for five years. From 1974 to 1979, he served as an associate professor, having subsequently held the role of full professor from 1979 until attaining emeritus status in 2005. During this time, he also served as the manager of the Computational Fluid Dynamics Center on campus from 1984 to 2012, having previously been a NASA-ASEE Fellow of the NASA Ames Research Center from 1970 to 1971.

Alongside his primary endeavors, Dr. Tannehill was the president of Engineering Analysis, Inc., from 1976 to 2018. Having started his career as an aerospace engineer at the NASA Flight Research Center in 1965 and technical staff member of the Aerospace Corporation in 1967, he has contributed myriad articles to professional journals and authored and co-authored several textbooks in his area of expertise. He is most proud of publishing “Computational Fluid Mechanics and Heat Transfer,” which was released in 1984.

The former chair of the Iowa section of the American Institute of Aeronautics and Astronautics, Dr. Tannehill was the recipient of the Baylon Eminent Faculty Award for Research in 2004 and the Iowa Assembly Excellence in Teaching Award in 1989. He also received a Faculty Citation in 1990. Listed in Who’s Who in America, Who’s Who in American Education, Who’s Who in Science and Engineering, and Who’s Who in the Midwest, he intends to continue enjoying his retirement while working toward publishing an additional edition of his textbook.

For more information, please visit:

Lifetime Achievement

Contact Dr. Tannehill:

Leave a Reply