Doris Keefe Lidtke, Ph.D.

Title: Professor Emerita
Company: Towson University
Location: Towson, Maryland, United States

Doris Keefe Lidtke, Ph.D., Professor Emerita at Towson University, has been recognized by Marquis Who’s Who Top Educators for dedication, achievements, and leadership in computer science and higher education.

Drawing upon more than five decades of industry experience, Dr. Lidtke retired in 2009, having most recently earned the title of professor emerita at Towson University from 2002 to 2009. Prior to attaining this status, she served as a professor at the university from 1990 to 2002, an associate professor from 1980 to 1990, and an assistant professor of computer science from 1968 to 1980. During this time, she also acted in multiple roles with the National Science Foundation, including as a program director and associate program manager, and the Software Productivity Consortium, where she was a former senior member. She commenced her career as a programmer analyst for Shell Development Company and the University of California, Berkeley.

Dr. Lidtke holds a Bachelor of Science from the University of Oregon, a Master of Education from Johns Hopkins University, and a Doctor of Philosophy from the University of Oregon. Alongside her primary endeavors, she served the Computer Sciences Accreditation Board as vice president from 1993 to 1995 and president from 1995 to 1997. In addition, she has maintained affiliation with ACM, Inc., on the special interest group board and council, as well as chairman. Furthermore, she has remained associated as a fellow with Accreditation Board for Engineering and Technology, Inc., and the Computing Sciences Accreditation Board, Inc.

In recognition of her exceptional contributions to the field of computer science, Dr. Lidtke has accrued several accolades. The recipient of the Lifetime Achievement Award from the department of computer and information sciences at Towson University in 2014, she also received the Distinguished Alumna Award from the Johns Hopkins Alumni Association in 2011 and the Outstanding Service Award from SIGCAS in 2004 and 2009. Earlier in her career, ACM, Inc., honored her with the Recognition Service Award five times between 1978 and 1991, and the IEEE Computer Society presented her with the Outstanding Contribution Award in 1986 and 1992. Notably, she has been featured in multiple editions of Who’s Who in America, Who’s Who in American Education, Who’s Who in Science and Engineering, Who’s Who in the East and Who’s Who of American Women.

For more information, please visit:

Press Release

Industry Leaders

Contact Dr. Lidtke:

Leave a Reply