Raymond M. Hakim, MD, PhD

Hakim, Raymond 3669640_4003669640 TP

Title: Professor
Vanderbilt University Medical Center
Location: Franklin, Tennessee, United States

Raymond M. Hakim, MD, PhD, Professor at Vanderbilt University Medical Center, has been recognized by Marquis Who’s Who Top Educators for dedication, achievements, and leadership in Nephrology and Hypertension.

Originally trained as an engineer, Dr. Hakim entered medicine in 1972, and has been with Vanderbilt University since 1987. He is currently an attending physician with the Vanderbilt University Medical Center, as well as a clinical professor of medicine specializing in nephrology. He is well known as one of the founders and former chief medical officer of the Renal Care Group, an outpatient dialysis provider, in 1995, which was rated with the lowest mortality and hospitalization rates by the U.S. Renal Data System just ten years later. In 2007, the group merged with Fresnius Medical Care with Dr. Hakim as CMO from 2009 to 2012, experiencing a twenty percent reduction in mortality and hospitalization across the group. Dr. Hakim is a Marquis Who’s Who Industry Expert and a recipient of the Marquis Who’s Who Humanitarian Award as well as the Albert Nelson Marquis Lifetime Achievement Award.

An alumnus of the prestigious Rensselaer Polytechnic Institute, Dr. Hakim completed a PhD in engineering from the Massachusetts Institute of Technology in 1967, and worked as a research engineer for Hydro-Quebec. He entered McGill University to earn an MD in 1976, and served a residency in internal medicine with the Royal Victoria Hospital in Montreal, going on to a nephrology research and clinical fellowship with the Peter Bent Brigham Hospital and the Harvard Medical School. He accepted his first teaching position with Harvard in 1981, and notably worked with the Brigham and Women’s Hospital from 1981 to 1987 as a physician. Dr. Hakim has worked in a research capacity with numerous groups, including medical director of the Vanderbilt Dialysis Unit and as a member of the committee on nephrology and hypertension with the American College of Physicians.

Dr. Hakim has received numerous awards, from the 1976 Campbell Howard Prize in Clinical Medicine and 1976 J. Francis Williams Prize in Medicine and Clinical Medicine from McGill University to the recent 2017 Belding Scribner Award from the American Society of Nephrology. The award recognizes his contribution for patients with end stage renal disease (ESRD) and acute kidney injury (AKI). Dr. Hakim has also been a noted speaker and visiting professor, and has written over 190 articles on dialysis and plasmapheresis research.

Contact Dr. Hakim

Leave a Reply